Italian Eatery

One Friday evening, we decided to try out a relatively new restaurant in South Minneapolis called Italian Eatery.  We had early reservations because a) that’s how we roll and b) that’s all we could get.  We were surprised at how busy it was at 5:00.  The bar was packed and soon many of the dining room tables were as well.  Always a good sign I think!

I started out with a “taste” of red wine.  They have both “tastes” and  “full” glasses of wine.  The taste was cheaper (more like a reasonably priced glass in my opinion) and was a decent enough pour.  Good way to make people think they are getting a deal.

We ordered the Goat Milk Ricotta which was house made whipped ricotta served with grilled bread.  The starter arrived on a wooden cutting board that with a huge ball of ricotta.  It was decent enough, but I actually think they could have gone with a bit of a smaller serving.

For the entree portion, I went with the cavatelli which was a pasta dish with house stewed bolognese and grana padano cheese.  They offer two sizes of the pastas which is always a nice option.  I went with the smaller option and then ordered a side of the brussel sprouts with caesar, pecorino, colatura.  The sprouts were decent enough.  The pasta was a little too al dente for my taste.  I make a lasagna bolognese recipe that has fabulous bolognese sauce.  I could have made a better pasta dish on my own with my bolognese sauce than what I had here.  It was fine, just not amazing.

The hubby went with the gnocchi with Nordic Creamery butter and grana padano cheese.  He has a high watermark for gnocchi from Meritage in St. Paul and this did not measure up at all.

In summary, I thought Italian Eatery was ok.  I think it’ll do well with it’s location as there really isn’t any other good option around there.  However, I would rather head over to Broder’s for pasta if that was what I was in the mood for in the future.  Speaking of Broder’s, I went back through this blog as well as my older blog and realized that I’ve never written about Broder’s.  I will fix that sometime in the future.  It is by far one of the best Italian restaurants in Minneapolis!

Happy Eating!

One thought on “Italian Eatery

Leave a Reply

